The film industry in the Netflix era: strategies and regulation

Chair Club Research Debate

image
Author(s) Julien JOURDAN
Publication type GovReg Note

The GovReg Notes produced by the Governance and Regulation Chair are designed to bring to light, on the basis of recognised research and the solid arguments that stem from it, the issues at stake in a subject that is the subject of public debate or that is structuring public debate.

The subject of this new note is developments in the film industry.

A century of technological innovation has gradually freed cinema from the spatial and temporal constraints of the projection room. Despite the obstacles, the industry has been able to profitably integrate terrestrial television, video and then pay-TV, while preserving cinemas. However, this fragile balance is about to be swept away by the success of online broadcasting services.

In this paper, Julien Jourdan, Professor of Strategy at the University of Paris Dauphine-PSL and associate of the Chair, situates the different levels of disruption brought to the film industry over time in relation to each other, and discusses the strategic implications, particularly in France, of the major irruption of online broadcasting; he then maps out the path towards a new form of regulation for the sector.

Nos communautés


  • Dauphine 300.png
  • Fondation 300.png
  • IOEA_LOGO_COMPLETE_0.png
  • SIOE_logo_RGB_0.png
  • oecd_logo_0.png

Nos partenaires


Les entreprises

  • ASFA_Log_CRVB_0.png
  • Ecologic-logo-rvb.png
  • logo_GROUPE_ADP_cmjn_0.png
  • RATP couleur grise.jpg
  • RTE_logo+signD_CMJN_CS4 - Copie_0.png
  • Le+logotype_0_0.png

 

Les institutions publiques

  • logo_conseil_2009_fr_gris_0.png
  • Logo_CGE-01_0_0.png
  • Cour des Comptes_0_0.png

 

Les experts

  • DEPARDIEU_LOGO_VECTORISE_0.png
  • frontier_logo_0_0.png

 

Les membres du Club des régulateurs

  • ACPR
  • ANJ
  • ANSSI
  • ARCEP new-court_2.png
  • logo_ART_cmjn.png
  • LOGO_CRE_A_UTILISER-Versionréduite_1.png
  • Logo DGAC_quadri_0.png

L’industrie cinématographique à l’ère Netflix : stratégies et régulation

La Chaire Le Club Débat

image
Auteur(s) Julien JOURDAN

Les GovReg Notes de la Chaire Gouvernance et Régulation ont vocation à mettre au jour, à partir de travaux de recherche reconnus et des arguments solides qui en découlent, les enjeux d'un sujet publiquement discuté ou structurant pour le débat public.

Cette nouvelle note prend pour objet les évolutions de l'industrie cinématographique.

Un siècle d’innovation technologique a en effet progressivement affranchi le cinéma des contraintes spatiales et temporelles de la salle de projection. En dépit des obstacles, l’industrie a su intégrer avec profit la télévision hertzienne, la vidéo puis la télévision à péage, tout en préservant les salles de cinéma. Or, cet équilibre fragile est en passe d’être balayé par le succès des services de diffusion en ligne.

Julien Jourdan, Professeur de stratégie à l'Université Paris Dauphine-PSL et associé à la Chaire, situe dans cette note, les uns par rapport aux autres, les différents niveaux de rupture apportés dans le temps à l'industrie cinématographique et discute des implications stratégiques, en France notamment, de l'irruption majeure de la diffusion en ligne ; il trace alors la voie d'une nouvelle forme de régulation du secteur.

Télécharger

Nos communautés


  • Dauphine 300.png
  • Fondation 300.png
  • IOEA_LOGO_COMPLETE_0.png
  • SIOE_logo_RGB_0.png

Nos partenaires


  • ASFA_Log_CRVB_0.png
  • ENEDIS_RVB_300 dpi_0.png
  • ENGIE_0_0.png
  • LOGO FDJ FIN RVBpetit_0_0.png
  • logo_GROUPE_ADP_cmjn_0.png
  • RTE_logo+signD_CMJN_CS4 - Copie_0.png
  • Le+logotype_0_0.png
  • VINCI Autoroutes_0.png
  • logo_conseil_2009_fr_gris_0.png
  • Logo_CGE-01_0_0.png
  • logoCGEDD2018-quadri_0.png
  • Cour des Comptes_0_0.png
  • ACPR_0.png
  • Logo_AMF_CMJN_0.png
  • LOGO ARAFER_0.png
  • ARCEP new-court_2.png
  • LOGO ARJEL_1.png
  • CEPS clairs_0.png
  • LOGO_CRE_A_UTILISER-Versionréduite_1.png
  • logo_CSA_0.png
  • Logo ASI_0.png
  • Logo DGAC_quadri_0.png
  • logo_hadopi_2017_0.png
  • DEPARDIEU_LOGO_VECTORISE_0.png
  • frontier_logo_0_0.png
  • LOGO NOIR YLIOS.png
  • oecd_logo_0.png